Kalas SWWRS Round 2: Four Firs Time Trial

Riders gathered on a warm and sunny morning at Clyst St George for the second round of the Kalas South West Women’s Race Series, and the first of the four time trials.


Ayse powers to the win over the top of Woodbury Common, photos courtesy of Stuart McFadzean.


Ellie Bremer, of the promoting club, was the first off,  followed by 12 more women all getting a result in for the series. It was a good turn out despite the early start and the clocks going forward the night before!

The sporting course proved to be challenging;  with mainly climbing for the first half of the course, the hill up to Woodbury Common being particularly difficult. This was followed by a fast descent to the finish.

Ayse Vahiboglu, from the promoting club, was fastest with a time of 40:00, with Crystal Spearman  a close second at 40:28 and Mary McFadzean third with 41:16. Results were close throughout the rest of the field with only seconds separating some of the riders.

There were prizes for the first three from the event organisors, as well as engraved glasses from the series sponsor Kalas Sportswear.

Thanks to the Mike Rose and Exeter Wheelers for an excellent event , thanks also to Kalas Sportswear for their support of the series.


The sporting course resulted in a mix of people on full TT rigs and road bikes, making this one of the most accessible time trials in the series.

With such a great turn out at both the series events so far we are expecting a it to be a fabulous year for the Series and women’s racing in general in the region.  Why not come and join us at the next series event, the Camel Valley CTC 10 mile Time Trial on 27th April.  Keep an eye on the website for  all the event previews and latest news.

Thanks to Stuart Mcfadzean for the photos, there’s more here.

Round2 winners

Mary (3rd), Ayse (1st) and Crystal (2nd) took home the Series prizes from Round 2.

Full Result Round 2;

1 Mrs Ayse Vahiboglu Exeter Wheelers 40:00

2 Miss Crystal Spearman Scuderia RT 40:28

3 Miss Mary McFadzean CS Dynamo 41:16

4 Miss Zoe Betteridge North Devon Wheelers 42:16

5 Mrs Wiebke Rietz 1st Chard Wheelers 44:18

6 Miss Elena Bremer Exeter Wheelers 45:28

7 Miss Becky Smith Revo Racing 45:50

8 Mrs Sally Edney Revo Racing 46:14

9 Dr Nik Rorke Exeter Wheelers 50:15

10 Miss Elaine Jewkes Port Sunlight Wheelers 50:17

11 Mrs Kerry Nadin Plymouth Corinthian 50:18

12 Mrs Liz Elliot N1 Tri Club 51:06

13 Miss Liz Hill Alltrax 52:38


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s